In response to an invitation by Bishop Hugh Boyle of Johannesburg to establish Catholic schools for the education of the children of the parish of Victory Park, the congregations of  the Holy Cross Sisters and the De La Salle Brothers founded separate schools to cater for girls and boys. The Holy Cross Sisters opened Holy Cross College for girls in 1954 while the De La Salle Brothers opened De La Salle College for boys in 1958.

The schools were amalgamated in 1986 into a coeducational unit known as De La Salle Holy Cross College.Primary students would attend classes in the building situated to the west of Road 3 behind St. Charles Church. Secondary students would use 2 – 22 Road 3,  the property of the De La Salle Brothers.

The Mission Statement of the school is based on the Gospel values of  courage, justice, reconciliation, community, service, faith, hope, and love.
The following statements are intended to serve as the foundation for everything the College does.

  • To provide a human and Christian education for all learners
  • Encompassing their spiritual and moral formation, academic preparation, and social and cultural development
  • In a non-discriminatory, community-oriented and caring environment which recognizes and respects the dignity and rights of each individual, fosters attitudes of compassion, tolerance, concern for justice, and service to others
  • Cultivates a welcoming, stimulating, and enriching atmosphere of peace, harmony, and trust
  • And encourages a culture of learning conducive to individual and community 


Students write the examinations set by the Independent Examinations
Training Certificate (GETC), although at this stage  no official  school leaving certificates are issued to pupils at the end of grade 9  (National Education Department Policy).

The grade 9 pupils write CTAs (Common Tasks for Assessment) as set by the IEB. Each grade 9 pupil is required to produce a portfolio of work as laid down by the IEB.

In grades 8 and 9, pupils study the following subjects:  English, Africaans/Zulu, Mathematics, Economic Management Sciences, Technology, Life Sciences. Art, History, Geography, Physical Science, Religious Education, Life Orientation, Computer, and Physical Education. Pupils in grades 10, 11, and 12 are prepared for the IEB National Senior Certificate. Each grade 10, 11, and 12 pupil is required to produce a portfolio of work as laid down by the IEB.

Grade 10 and 11 pupils study the following compulsory subjects:  English, Africaans/Zulu, Mathematics/Mathematical Literacy, and Life Orientation. They  also  choose three other subjects from the list below:  Business Studies, Life Sciences, History, Geography, German, Consumer Studies, Physical Science.  In addition they study computer (KNet) and Religious Education.

Grade 12 pupils study the following subjects:
English, Africaans/Zulu, Mathematics, Business Economics, Economics, Geography, German, Science, Biology, Home Economics, History.   English and either Africaans or Zulu are compulsory.  All subjects can be studied  at either Higher Grade or Standard Grade.

Cultural Activities:  Debating, Public Speaking, Drama, Dance, Chess, Pipe Band, Junior City Council, Cheerleading, Choir, Community Service, Lasallian Youth,  Media Centre, Religious:  Altar Servers, Masses, Parish Catechism


Rugby, Hockey, Netball, Cricket, Tennis, Swimming, Athletics, Soccer

Contact De La Salle Holy Cross College

De La Salle Holy Cross College (Senior School)
Road No. 3
Victory Park 2195
E-mail:This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Ms. Debbie Harris(Principal)